Could a kindle compare?

Show me a kindle that can compete with this…

image

In Brescia, Italy where books were being cleared from a basement and dumped in the street.

I haven’t yet taken to the kindle/nook thing. I’m not so keen on the idea of a library being contained on a flash drive. It’s not the most inspiring way to browse for a novel. I’m a bit old fashioned when it comes to books, there’s something special about the object itself. Non of which may come as a surprise given that I’m still clinging onto traditional darkroom processes, which I use in creating my artwork. So I’m a bit old school! I also have a 1920’s Corona typewriter and a gramophone, which I play from time to time.

image image image image

image   image

Images: above ‘We speak in semicolons – typewriter‘ (photographic drawing 16x16in), other images are various snapshots taken in my studio.

Alas… I’m not one to dumpster dive either for fear of what might be lurking amongst the detritus… And anyone that knows me well enough will know I will happily freak out at the thought of picking up something from the street (at least not without it going through a ridiculously rigorous process of disinfecting)! But when you pass a dumpster with book spewing from it, it would be sacrilege to just walk on by.

So after a little rummaging I selected a few souvenirs… Given my limited Italian I wasn’t exactly sure what I was looking for. So, the only way I could, I judged a book by it’s cover and found some treasures…

 image image image image

It seems there’s more to this book than meets the eye… And perhaps a few hidden stories to go with it. 

I just can’t imagine how a kindle could ever compare.

 

Leave a Reply

